About Videogames and Metal subgenres.

Who am I?

Who am I? My name is Victor Padilla, and I’m a computer science student at the Universidad del Sagrado Corazón in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Two of my biggest passions, aside from technology, are video games and music, and I’m a big advocate for spending your free time listening to music and video games. As long as they don’t become unhealthy habits. Thanks to both being relatively personalizable, you can listen to whatever music genre you like and play whatever video games you like the most.

Scientific research about music and video games has also shown that they can positively impact your brain, such as:

Improved cognitive functions by playing video games.

Credits: Samsung Memory on Unsplash

Or

Music improving your mood.

Credits: Igor Vetushko on VistaCreate

But let’s talk some more about myself. I first decided to study computer science because I had always wondered how computers work on the inside, but it was my love for video games that really pushed me to learn more about computers, since they can make video games look better. At first, I wanted to learn more about hardware, but as time went on, I wanted to make my own video game, so i started looking at the software side of things. Though learning about the conditions video game programmers have to work on, led me to stop chasing that dream and instead I shifted my focus on app development.

One of my resolutions for this new year 2024 is making an app for iOS devices and launch it by summer hopefully!

Another one of my resolutions is to finally stop slacking off and practice more with my guitar. I started playing around 2018 because of Metallica’s Hit Song, Master of Puppets. It’s considered an intermediate-advanced level difficulty song, so it’s been my goal for a few years being able to play it, this song pretty much got me deep into metal, so I have to thank Metallica for my current tastes. This is a clip from a Metallica concert playing the song:

Credits: @Lady_FanAccount on Twitter

Another thing I’ve been meaning to come back to is skateboarding. I used to go pretty often to the skateparks, but ever since starting college i’ve had trouble fitting it into my schedule. It taught me valuable skills, like patience and being decisive. Learning a trick and being able to land it consistently can take even the most seasoned skaters weeks – or even months! That’s where the patience kicks in. Being decisive is also very important, since hesitating could make you fall and suffer a nasty injure, so you’ll learn pretty quickly to just commit to the tricks (though you should always take it slow, and not try to bite more than you can chew). Those are skills that I’ve learned to apply to the real life too!

Here’s a skateboarding clip from Twitter/X:

Credits: @SkaterGains on Twitter

And another tweet that pretty much sums up everything i said:

Credits: @georgepoulos_ on Twitter/X

A video that shows the process of learning tricks:

Credits: YOCAHER SKATEBOARDS on Youtube

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started